Gold Stars (Volume 1)

29 Oct

Whine: We had to go up to the local children’s hospital today to visit our niece Avery (heretofore referred to as “Ave the Brave”) who was undergoing a few exploratory procedures. Poor Aves.

Cheese: Two Words–Taco Tuesday 

 

This is my first installment of what I hope will become a fixture here at Whine and Cheese: Gold Stars. Being a teacher at heart, I find the gold star a perfect way to say “Way to Go!” or “Thanks!” This first edition is far from exhaustive, I’m just going with things that stood out today. So if you didn’t make the list today, be patient, there are plenty of Gold Stars to go around. 

And the gold stars go to. . . .

1) Aves the Brave. One tough seven-month-old cookie. She’s got tubes up her nose and down her throat, and little arm braces (picture the kid from A Christmas Story in his snowsuit) to keep her from ripping out important pieces of medical equipment. Yet she was still smiling, sweet and giving running commentary about most everything.

2) My pastor and my church. For praying for and caring about a little baby you’ve never met. For sending follow-up emails to see how she’s doing. Your prayers mattered a lot to God and to us. 

3) Friends who send grammatically-correct text messages. I love getting texts where you spell out words like earth-shattering or hyperventilate. Because nothing says you care like appropriate punctuation.

That’s all for tonight, folks, I’m one tired Mama.

4 Responses to “Gold Stars (Volume 1)”

  1. Andrew October 29, 2008 at 8:21 am #

    So very sweet. Thanks for stopping by and hanging out with “Mom and Dad” last night and for keeping Ave the Brave company. Oh yes, and for the chick-fil-a too. We feel very blessed and cared for…

  2. Alyssa October 29, 2008 at 9:31 am #

    Properly used hyphens are my love language.

  3. Kelly October 29, 2008 at 10:53 am #

    I’m sorry I didn’t know about Avery! Add my prayers to the bunch. I am honored by the gold star, although I don’t think I truly deserve it (I’m pretty sure I didn’t hyphenate earth shattering) although maybe I am being extremely egocentric and you have other friends sending you texts properly using “earth-shattering”.

  4. michelle October 30, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    love the new blog! glad you finally got it up and running. expect ungramatically correct comments from me!

Leave a Reply

