UnWord Fun

20 Nov

Whine: I need an escape hatch. From my children.

Cheese: At least they give me good material to work with. They’re gonna hate me for this someday, aren’t they?

 

They say necessity is the mother of invention. In my case, it’s boredom. Which, I suppose if fueled by the necessity to amuse myself. Which, in turn, turns into blog posts about made up words.

Hence the debut of a new semi-regular post here at Whine and Cheese: UnWord Fun. This is where I occupy myself by making up words and trying to pass them off as real.

 

Our first ever unword:

 

food gloves [fud ghluvz]  -noun

A covering for the hand made entirely of food, thus enabling the wearer to eat directly off of the hands without the intrusion of utensils. Also handy if the wearer wishes to save food for a later time.

Related Words: food hat, food mask, food turtleneck/scarf, food shirt, food pants, food diaper*, food socks

 

Illustration:

Food Gloves  

*Food diapers are used primarily as store-it-and-eat-it-later devices, rather than as utensils for immediate eating.

 

P.S. If you share my need to verbosify, you may enjoy this site. (Go to V and look up vegeludes.) In fact, I am planning on submitting future unwords for publication there.

3 Responses to “UnWord Fun”

  1. Kelly November 20, 2008 at 5:08 pm #

    love it love it love it

  2. Alyssa November 20, 2008 at 8:40 pm #

    Are those cheese gloves? I would assume that their origin is Swiss, and though some would think the word derived from “cheese cloth,” it instead derived from “lunch.” Please correct my origin and derivations as necessary.

  3. Sars November 21, 2008 at 11:41 am #

    A-How foolish of me to forget the etymology! Thanks for filling in the blanks for me. In this case I think you are correct, as there is no relation betwen cheese cloth and food glove.

Leave a Reply

