A Double Shot of UnWord Fun

5 Feb

Whine: I’m totally smungover from being up past 1 am the last few nights. And when I tried to nap today, I found myself battling wicked sminsomnia, as my brain twittered around planning this post. [To translate this statement, see below.]

Cheese: After owning my current cell phone  (which I bought for its mp3 capability) for almost two years, I have finally downloaded some music onto it.

 

smangover [smang-oh-ver] -noun

smungover [smung-oh-ver] –adjective

The lingering effects of physical exhaustion, including crabbiness, headache and bloodshot eyes, resulting from overuse of social media such as text messaging, facebook, or blogging. Usually effects those over twenty-five years of age, as those younger usually have more stamina and fewer jobs.

“I’ve got a killer smangover,” she groaned, “I was up all night cyber-stalking my fifth grade teacher.”

 

And just because I love you guys (and who knows when I’ll post again), here’s a bonus UnWord for today.

sminsomnia [in-som-nee-uh] -noun

sminsomniac [in-som-nee-ack] -noun

An inability to fall asleep or stay asleep as a result of obsessive thoughts about and overuse of social media.  Often causes a nasty smangover.

3 Responses to “A Double Shot of UnWord Fun”

  1. Rosie Haught February 5, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    So that is what I have several times a week! Thank you for the diagnosis!! I can tell you that this condition is worse on those of us over 50 (well over 50).

  2. Alyssa February 5, 2009 at 7:42 pm #

    WebMD needs to add this to their repertoire to make sure I properly self-diagnose!

  3. Karen February 11, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    Your blog makes me laugh every time. This time, especially the over 25 thing (painfully true), and the part about the 5th grade teacher.

Leave a Reply

