Back to Our Regularly Scheduled Programming

16 Aug

Whine: It’s August in Texas, which means that every day by 8 AM the concrete (and interior of my car) is at least 475 degrees Fahrenheit.

Cheese: I don’t need an oven to cook my frozen pizza, now do I?

 

Some of you may have noticed that recently things around here have been quiet. Eerily quiet. Which may lead some of you to wonder what in tarnation has kept me away from my very important job of entertaining you. Please accept my humblest apologies.

In order to sum up the last two months without inducing extreme narcolepsy, allow me to utilize my good friend Mr. Bullet Point to give you an update.

In the last few months I’ve . . .

 . . .  read at least 30 books. With words, not pictures, and lots of pages (although I’ve read my fair share of the picture variety, too). Highlights included Agatha Christie’s The Man in the Brown Suit and Apart from the Crowd by Anna McPartlin. Lowlights included  Pooh Counts to Ten and The Tortoise and the Hare (mostly because anything you read more than twelve times in two days tends to get just a tad repetitive tad repetitive tad repetitive.)

 

. . . spent hours playing Speed Scrabble. Sometimes by myself. Now that is just sad, isn’t it? I will say that making a giant, 100-letter crossword, although time consuming, is pretty fun. (See below.) I think ERGOT is my favorite.

Apparently I have serious problems with boredom.

Apparently I have serious problems with boredom.

 

. . . found myself on a relaxing lake-cation/family reunion in the north woods of Wisconsin. If this sounds unglamorous to you, you’re crazy. Jetskiing, waterskiing, and tons of free babysitting. And up there your cup of water doesn’t boil when you accidentally leave it outside on the porch. I meant to post a series on this, but felt guilty about blogging when after three weeks I still hadn’t unpacked my suitcase. You’ll have to settle for a picture for now.

We LOVE Wisconsin! Although we are not sure why Mr. Dad is making that face. . .

We LOVE Wisconsin! Although we are not sure why Mr. Dad is making that face. . .

 

. . . welcomed a new nephew into the world. Baby Charlie arrived August 7th–little brother to Avery (aka Aves the Brave). He is seriously, way cute in a little, sleepy old man way. (Picture coming soon, I promise.)

 

. . . witnessed new feats of strenth and ingenuity by my children.  Lil’ Sis has learned to shut doors. Big Sis has learned to lock them. Big Sis can now single-handedly assemble a 50-piece jigsaw puzzle. I am not kidding. Then she takes it apart and eats the pieces. Also not kidding. Lil’ Sis’ communication skills have kicked up a notch, too.  She can use whole sentences now, as in “I want a bite.” and “Give me that.” She also finds crossing her arms across her chest while she stamps her tiny mary-janed feet and screeches quite effective. (And since I am the worst mother EVER I find this hysterically funny.)

Do NOT be fooled by their innocent faces.

Do NOT be fooled by their innocent faces.

 

. . . been working on a VERY SPECIAL new project–because my life was not  complicated enough, right?

That purple rock is the real reason I haven't written in two months. . .

That little purple rock is the real reason I haven't written in two months. . .

 

So there you have it. Our life for the last few months in a nutshell. I know some of you will be clamoring for details about that new family picture up there, so stay tuned. Or should I say To Be Continued. . .

 

P.S. Here’s a Gold Star for Jenni, my 7th grade BFF and current Facebook friend, just because she needs one today.

14 Responses to “Back to Our Regularly Scheduled Programming”

  1. Cheryl Walhout August 16, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    Sarah,

    This is great! Love the content and the pictures. Sometimes I wish I did a better job on FB, but still haven’t made any strides to accomplish that end.

    Would love to talk to you!!!! May I call you sometime? The only number I have for you is your apartment number, before kids. So if this is okay, let me know a number. If it works better for you, call me at (616) 443-9132.

    Cheryl (remembered as “Sissy”?)

  2. jennifer klemens August 16, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    you truely rock. hard core rock. and boy, do i miss you terribly.

  3. wee August 16, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    Hey Sis! I love your beautiful kids!!! Thanks for the photos & joy. 🙂

  4. Megan August 16, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    Yay!!!!!!!! Congratulations! Can’t wait to see you soon!

    P.S. Can Todd pray for twins for you too?

  5. wee August 16, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    p.s. I’m jealous of your scrabble feats!

  6. Alyssa August 16, 2009 at 8:48 pm #

    I’d say you are feeling MUCH better since you are funny and writing. Great combo!

  7. Sarah August 16, 2009 at 8:53 pm #

    Congratulations on the purple rock! And I’m glad you’re back. I must admit I’ve missed stalking your blog. It always makes me laugh outloud.

  8. Louanne August 16, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    Sarah, I love reading your blog and even more fun to read your news! Congratulations!!! I also love love love Speed Scrabble. 🙂 Thanks for a good smile tonight!

    🙂 Louanne

  9. kj August 17, 2009 at 7:23 am #

    !!!!
    As we like to say in the Langford house… congrats on your expansion 🙂

    We need a summer/wedding recap hang out… you know in all that free time you guys have…

  10. Wendy August 17, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    Congratulations! Very exciting!

  11. Kelly August 19, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    No wonder you’ve been sick! I too would be quite ill if I had a purple rock inside me. (Was the joke too obvious?)

  12. LJ August 24, 2009 at 7:14 pm #

    I give you a 10 for this post. The purple rock is sweet. Is this a prediction of a future Horned Frog?

  13. steve fischer December 29, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    Sarah dont no if this is gonna be seen by you or not but thank you so much for the xmas treats and of course the yummy cookies hope you folks had a great xmas im sure the kids did and just think next year you will be able to by for one more lol catch ya later steve fischer

Leave a Reply

