Gold Stars

7 Nov

Whine: This morning I managed the impossible: I took a shower, styled my hair and applied makeup (not in the car!) and was running on time to a birthday party. Then I found the glob of pink toothpaste in my hair.

Cheese: At least I found the toothpaste before I left the house. . . .

I’m giving out a few Gold Stars today, complete with pictures!

1. To Grandma Pam. For making the cutest Halloween costumes EVER! For handbraiding every strand of Lil’ Sis’ horsey mane (and tail). For choosing the sweetest red yarn to sew into Big Sis’ cowgirl hat, so that Big Sis could think she was Jesse from Toy Story 2. And for overnighting the costumes here so we’d have them in time for our many, many parties!!

Click to play this Smilebox scrapbook: Soule Halloween 2009
Create your own scrapbook - Powered by Smilebox
Make a Smilebox scrapbook

2. To my friend and former roomie, Heather. (This one is quite overdue!) For hosting me and my two wild, barfing, pants-peeing, trouble starters in her home for five days. Our trip to Wheaton wouldn’t have been the same without her unflagging hospitality (and her washer/dryer.) Her boys, the same age as my girls, were sweet and funny. Especially when Big Bro was kind enough to play with Big Sis’ princess dolls (don’t you know his dad loved that) and said to her during one of her melt downs “Don’t panic, just talk to me.” (He’s four.)  Big Sis kept calling him the “THAT Caleb” (in contrast with the one from school), but by the time we got home she was calling him “that NICE Caleb.” Awwwwww. (Sorry the picture is so small. I’m an idiot.)

heather and boys

My Roomie and Her Boys

 3. Mr. Dad. For giving me the night off last night for some looooonnnnggg overdue girl time. Dinner, shopping, AND a movie? I had so much fun that I felt a little guilty. For taking the girls to Chuck-E-Cheese while I was gone. For not being mad when I came home (pretty late) with a, ahem, souvenier from my shopping. For keeping his eyes open well after midnight to listen to me recount every detail of my evening, then recounting every detail of his trip to Chuck-E-Cheese. And then for getting up early with Big Sis this morning. He’s a keeper, folks.

David and Me

Look! A Picture with No Kids!

 

4. To my friends out there. For staying on the road, even when it’s bumpy. For being transparent, even when it would be easier to pretend. For walking through the sad places of life and still choosing to mix joy with the tears. For sharing with me your broken places and helping to heal mine. For hoping in the One who gives instead of in what you can get. I send out my love to and prayers for you today.  

 

P.S. Stay tuned. Look for another post on Tuesday morning!

5 Responses to “Gold Stars”

  1. cdub November 8, 2009 at 9:30 am #

    Loved the smilebox video. 🙂 You have a gift, my friend. Keep on writing!

  2. rachelle November 8, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    love the rock video/pumpkin pics.

  3. LJ November 9, 2009 at 8:21 am #

    Thanks for sharing. The pic of you and and your husband is awesome! You look soooo beautiful!

  4. Kelly November 9, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    I have two questions:

    When did you get so tech savvy? That Halloween presentation was pretty impressive.

    At any point on Halloween did Sophie attempt to ride Chloe? I mean she’s smart enough to know that a cowgirl needs a horse. I’m just saying…

  5. Johanna I. November 10, 2009 at 3:49 pm #

    Response to number 4. Here is a super cheesy quote but I love it anyway. It seems to be anonymous but if anyone knows who said I’ll be glad to give credit.

    “A true friend knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you forget the words.”

Leave a Reply

