Remember That Thing I Said About Compassion?

14 Jan

In my previous post, I talked about the many different ways that people in my life have seen my pain and jumped in to help. Then I challenged all of us to find a way to do the same for someone else.

Here’s your chance.

The capital city of one of the poorest countries in the world lies in ruins today. People who on Tuesday morning began with very little, by Tuesday evening, had lost everything. Their world is in chaos and uproar.

As I watch the coverage from the safety and comfort of my couch, I’m tempted to change the channel back to Wheel of Fortune or something less hopeless. But I stay in the moment, in the misery, because the people running for their lives, searching for their families and desperate for hope are exactly that. They are people.

President Obama came on this morning and gave his statement on the situation. I was particularly struck when he directly addressed the people of Haiti. He said to them, “I want you to know that you are not alone. The American People stand with you.”

I pray today that you will stand with the people of Haiti. With your prayers and with your checkbooks. I know many of you have already done this, but if all you need is an opportunity, please visit one of the sites below and find out more about how you can show mercy at this time of devastation.

World Vision  

Compassion International

Red Cross (via text message)

2 Responses to “Remember That Thing I Said About Compassion?”

  1. Johanna I. January 14, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Just posted a status about this. Many large corporations offer a matching program for employee donations. At my company, for instance, a $100 donation will turn into $300.

  2. wee January 14, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    we’re going to try to have our church take a special offering on Sunday for both services. if we will keep thinking outside the box I know there are many ways many people will help!

Leave a Reply

