It’s My Birthday and I’ll Post What I Want To

5 Mar

Whine: It’s 4 am and I am definitely not typing this in my sleep. Which means I’m awake about four hours too early on my birthday. Is this an omen of what this year in my life will be like? I’m sure it is.

Cheese: I have it on expert authority that insomniacs get more done. If by more you mean checking facebook in the middle of the night and watching Paid Programming on mute while I wish for sleep to come. Perhaps I should invest in a few new books so I don’t end up ordering the Simoniz Power Car Washing Kit again. Yes, I said again.

I love birthdays. I always have. I particularly love my own birthday. I get presents and cake. And I finally get one day a year when I get to be the center of attention without having to resort to attention-seeking behavior like getting stuck in windows or being too sick to walk. But I love other people’s birthdays, too. Any excuse for cake and a good party is fine by me.

As I get older and the birthdays seems to blow by, I realize that some birthdays come with lots of fun and fanfare, and some are barely acknowledged. Although this could be partly my fault, as I seem to have made a habit of being “due any day now” right around my birthday. Last time I was great with child, I was due the day before my birthday.  And so my birthday greetings that year consisted of many baby-related wishes. This one, from my friend Carrie was one of my favorites:

May no baby come forth today (unless you are miserably large)
So that you never have to share your birthday with another (unless you are selfless like me and do not mind.)

I also spent that birthday in the doctor’s office for a routine exam. And if you’ve had a baby before, you know that a “routine exam” at 40 weeks pregnant is not really the most exciting way to spend your birthday. Unless awkward discomfort is your cup of tea. In which case, you should find another cup of tea, really.

But because I have the Ritz-Carlton of wombs, there was apparently no danger of Lil’ Sis arriving anywhere near her due date, which meant I wouldn’t have to share my birthday with her. Here is what I looked like on my birthday in 2008.

2008 or 2010? Doesn't matter, I look exactly the same.

I was going to post the picture of me showing my belly, but I thought seeing that amount of exposed skin might cause extreme discomfort/nausea for some of my more sensitive readers. Although, it was (and currently is) a sight to behold.

I was looking through pictures from my birthday last year and felt a twinge of longing for my old body. I mean I could wear pants. With a button and zipper. And I had a cheekbones and an actual chin. My how I miss my chin.

 

It's been so long since I've looked like that, I didn't recognize myself.

But chins (or lack thereof) and pregnancy and infomercials aside, I’m looking forward to my birthday today. Because a birthday is a great excuse to get away with eating lots of cake. And as long as Baby Boy stays in for another day or so, I can have my cake and eat his, too. Now that’s a birthday.

13 Responses to “It’s My Birthday and I’ll Post What I Want To”

  1. Aunt Linnaea March 5, 2010 at 7:14 am #

    Sorry you had to be up so early today, before anyone got a chance to wish you an unsolicited Happy Birthday. But you are great at looking at the bright side of things, so your whole day will be wonderful, I’m sure. Enjoy!

  2. Wendy March 5, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Happy Birthday! I hope you have a great one.

  3. rachelle March 5, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    you should’ve called me. e,v and i were all partying for your b-day.

  4. michelle March 5, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    Happy Birthday Sarah!

  5. sbrasfield March 5, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    tried to call…sounds like you could possibly be napping. you are such a special person. glad we get to spend eternity together.

  6. wee March 5, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    Happy Happy Birthday! What should we do together while we’re the same age???

  7. Debbie March 5, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    Happy Birthday my sweet Sarah! I love you!

  8. KImberley March 5, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Best wishes on your birthday!!

  9. bwakeling March 5, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Congratulations on your pregnancy, and all the best for your impending labour!

    You might be interested in my blog if you want to know how your partner is feeling during your pregnancy!

    All the best,

    Ben

  10. LJ March 5, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    Happy birthday friend! Eat lots of cake (because you can and feel guilt-free). Hey, buttons and zippers are over rated. Give it a few more years and you will look at elatic waist pants with a smile on your face!

  11. Kellie@LaVidaDulce March 6, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    You are beautiful! And Happy Birthday a day late! (Although i think one should try to stretch their bday celebrations as long as possible!)

  12. Kellie March 8, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    I hope you had a great birthday!! We need to get together sometime! Lanie and I miss you guys!

  13. Birthday Cards Free March 24, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    What a good read. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

