The Beauty of Baby Steps

18 Mar

Whine: I got puked on last night. I’ll spare you the chunky details.

Cheese: I got to snuggle a puny-feeling Lil’ Sis for an hour. Which is 59 1/2 more minutes than I usually get her to be still and on my lap. The price we pay for love, right?

I admit that Google Calendar has changed my life. I put all my important dates into it and it sends me a handy email reminder. Things like birthdays and credit card payments don’t sneak up on me quite as often anymore. So pretty much I’m in love and would run off to Tahiti with it in a heartbeat.

Except not so much yesterday. Because Google Calendar apparently does not know that under no circumstances do you ever, ever email a big ol’ pregnant lady to remind her that it’s her due date. Unless you want to die a slow and painful death. It’s a good thing I’m not an intrepid hacker/virus-designer or Google Calendar would have rued the day. Rued the day, I tell you.

And so we’re still here waiting for this kid to arrive. Every week when I go see my doctor, she measures various not-suitable-for-internet-reading things. And after a week of aches and pains and lots of not sleeping, I’ve progressed another centimeter. A measly centimeter.

But then I got to thinking about centimeters and the fact that when you’re in my condition, you only really have to get to ten. I know, I find the math versus the reality of a human baby very disconcerting, and I’ve already done this twice. But in the end, if you’re lucky, ten is your magic number. And very often you don’t go from 1 to 10 in just a few hours. (Although Lil’ Sis did her darndest to set a record — 5 centimeters in less than an hour. I don’t recommend it. Did I mention the two epidurals I had with her??)

No, most often you change a centimeter at a time. And then I thought about how babies grow from teeny tiny cells. One centimeter at a time. And how, like labor, I’m pretty glad they don’t start out at 9 1/2 pounds from the beginning. Imagine lugging that around for 40 (or 41, if you’re really lucky) weeks.  And even once they come out they change in minuscule little increments. Because how would we delicate Mommies stand it if they were in 0-3 month onesies one day and 2T the next? It’s hard enough to pack up the outgrown baby clothes after they’ve had a few months to wear and stain and get pictures taken in them. What if they just went to bed one night little and snuggly and woke up the next morning grown? It would be too much to bear. And a little creepy.

But still, it’s hard to wait for those exciting baby milestones. Giving birth, witnessing first steps (or second, because they always save the first ones for when you’re gone, don’t they?), or going to the park without anyone wetting their pants. Or other, non-baby but equally exciting ones. Paying that last student loan payment,  losing that pesky baby weight, or after five months getting your DIY project of a master bathroom back.

I’m tempted to look at my situation, especially my body and think that nothing is happening. I will be pregnant forever. FOREVER. I’m convinced that I will be the first woman in history to carry a baby in utero for 41 years. Although I could milk the pity I get from waddling around with a belly this big for quite a while. I mean, if I had to.

But deep down I know that change is inevitable and it’s happening right now whether I see it or not. In fact, if I knew how much was changing both in my body and in my kiddos right now, I’d probably freak out.  I bet Big Sis is secretly learning Chinese and Lil’ Sis is training for a triathlon this summer.

There’s beauty in the baby steps. Agonizing, heart(or back)breaking beauty, but beauty nonetheless. The longer I wait and the harder I work on those baby steps, the more I can appreciate that final moment of arrival. The moment I hold that little guy I’ve been growing  and talking to and carrying around without having to strap into a car seat for 10 months will be one of the best of my life, I know it. 

But in the meantime I can slow down a little bit (mostly because I can barely walk anymore) and snuggle my kids as they try to find space on my lap. I can eat one (or two, or three) more spicy meals without having to get up to nurse/rock/change an impatient baby. I can admire the hard work this body of mine is doing, whether I see it or not.

In the end, I’m grateful for the baby steps. For time to let the anticipation build, and to be really proud of finishing something that wasn’t easy. And for time to stop and smell the roses (or Johnson & Johnsons shampoo) on the way. But mostly I’m glad for baby steps because I’m pretty sure that if I had the option to take big giant steps through things I would, and as big of a baby as I am, I’m pretty sure it would kill me.

For some other people’s (much deeper) thoughts on beauty, click the button below and follow the rabbit trail. Enjoy.

Photobucket

7 Responses to “The Beauty of Baby Steps”

  1. Wendy March 19, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    Beautiful post.

    I hope your little one comes soon. I remember passing my due date and just being SO OVER IT so I hope things get going soon but that you are able to enjoy these last moments before too.

  2. Kristiana March 19, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    You are precious Sarah. Inside and out.

    I feel like I know you soooo well, then I read your amazing posts and I know you even better!

    You are so wonderful –hang in there sweets! Praying for another 2…or 10 centimeters this weekend!

    Kiss big & lil sis for Aunt Krispy! Kisses for baby bro coming soon!

    xoxoox
    Kristiana

  3. Kelly March 20, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    You have a lap??? Wish I could be there to help or just be there.

  4. Sarah Markley March 21, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    oh my goodness i loved this.

    and thank god none of us are pregnant for 41 years. ugh.

    40 weeks is quite enough, thank you.

  5. Jennifer March 24, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    “There’s beauty in the baby steps.” That is so precious! What a sweet post on beauty!

    Here from Sarah’s beauty link list. 🙂

    ~Jennifer

  6. OneGirl March 24, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    I’m visiting from Sarah’s blog…if you’re interested, my beauty post is here: http://onegirl-itjusttakesone.blogspot.com/2010/03/what-is-beauty.html

    This post reminded me of this beautiful country song called You’re Gonna Miss This. It’s so true…we don’t know how good we have it until it’s gone, so we should cherish every moment.

  7. Colleen March 25, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    Great post! I have never been pregnant, but I’ve gone through 4 pregnancies with my sisters, and wow! It is truly an amazing feat what the human body goes through. Keep on keepin’ on, sister! It’s worth it! (As you already know.)

Leave a Reply

