Meet the Parents: Guest Post by Brother Bear

30 Mar

Whine: Mommy is always disrupting my eating and sleeping routine for inane things like changing my diaper (what? it could totally hold more) or sneaking little kisses. Doesn’t she understand that a man needs his rest?

Cheese: Revenge. Is. Sweet. Honestly, I’ve never seen That Mommy Lady move as quickly as she did when she realized she’d left my hind parts uncovered and that I wasn’t finished filling my diaper. When all was said and done, I wasn’t the only one who needed a change.

I look pretty pleased with myself, don't I?

As you guessed, I’m the new guy around here. I go by so many nicknames that I’m not sure if my real name is Lahdee, Aaron, El Rojo Grande or Stinkypants. But my newly soiled baby blanket has Aaron embroidered on it, so I’m gonna go with Aaron. But you can call me Brother Bear.

Today is my one-week birthday, so forgive me if my entry is short. I just wanted to give you a babies-eye view of this place I now call home. It sure is different than my old home–lot’s roomier, but the service could be quicker. I mean, inside I never had to wait on a meal, I just sucked it down through nature’s original curly straw. Now I might have to cry for five whole minutes before That Mommy Lady gets around to feeding me. The outrage.

But other than that, I think I like it ok. I’ve got two older sisters, Big and Lil’ Sis, and as far as I can tell they serve two purposes around here. One is to sit at my feet and gaze adoringly as they offer me toys and blankets and teddy bears and play This Little Piggy with my toes that Mommy never manages to get socks onto. The other seems — as I overheard Daddy say — to be “like a tag-team of little accidents.” I see the look on Mommy’s face when Lil’ Sis is trying to drink my bathwater and I can tell I have much to learn from them.

Lil' Sis and I meeting for the first time.

She's just that into me, isn't she?

Mr. Dad seems like a cool guy. And handsome, too. Which is a good thing ’cause everyone says we look just alike, from the extraordinarily long legs to the fuzzy red hair covering my body (I kinda look like a peach). My auntie said it’s weird to hold me because it’s like holding her brother. (That would be weird.) But Mr. Dad and I get along great. Although he teases me that I’ll never be able to eat in public because I make such rude piggy-like noises. But he usually doesn’t pester me too much with insignificant details like diaper changes and whatnot, so we just mostly chill and watch sports together to give Mommy a break from my voracious appetite.

The indoctrination begins. . .

And last, but not least, is Mommy. She’s a sentimental one, which is why I had to write my introductory post, we wouldn’t want her blubbering all over the place about what a precious gift I am, blah, blah, blah. I may give her a hard time, but man that lady is my sun, moon and stars. Or more aptly, my breakfast, lunch and dinner. And second breakfast, second lunch, second dinner, and midnight snack. And although I may not be so crazy about all those kisses she tries to sneak, I try to throw her a bone every once and while and let her snuggle me to sleep. After all, I’m not completely heartless.

She looks pretty happy to see me. Probably because I weighed 9 1/2 pounds.

Well, that’s about all I’ve got for now. It’s been far too long since my last meal and all this exertion has made me extra hungry. I just wanted to say thanks to everyone who sent prayers, well-wishes and congratulations our way this week. I want to send a special and personal thanks to the people who keep dropping baked goods off on our doorstep — I have a vested interest in Mommy staying both plump and pleasant — so keep ’em coming!

Brother Bear (aka Baby Aaron) is the resident baby at A Little Whine and Cheese. In his spare time he enjoys eating, sleeping and keeping up with his fan club. He is currently president of the Support Group for Newborns Who Look Like Third Graders.

 

10 Responses to “Meet the Parents: Guest Post by Brother Bear”

  1. Louanne March 30, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Aaron, your mommy is hilarious, so please be a good little boy so she can keep us entertained with more blog posts! You are a cutie pie and I can’t wait to hear more about the happenings in your life!

  2. Kelly March 30, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Yay! It’s good to have them blogging early. It helps fine motor skills, spelling, grammar, etc. I can’t wait to meet Brother Bear!

  3. Amber March 30, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Sarah you truly have a gift, in more ways than one. Congratulations on your little one.

  4. rachelle March 30, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    is that crack about holding your little brother about me 😉

  5. Shireen March 30, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    BB – you are TOO cute! and you’ve got a pretty special mom 🙂
    I hope you and your sisters can come visit washington dc sometime – there’s LOTS to see and learn and drool over.

  6. andrew March 30, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    I liked this one!

  7. kellie@LaVidaDulce March 31, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Congratulations! He is beautiful! Already I can see that he is a brilliant (like his mama)….to write so beautifully (and with such wit!) at just a week old!

    My first born was 9.5 pounds. Love me a big baby!

  8. wee March 31, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Hi Little Man! Be good to your mama and keep sleeping a lot! Tell her that she needs to eat plenty of those goodies or she’ll be putting cereal in your bottle at 3 weeks like I did with Keegan. BTW, Keegan is ready to play with you, so it’s good you’re close to being a third grader!! We love you and we hope everyone sneaks in extra kisses for us. Make sure you pass plenty of those kisses on to Big Sis and Lil Sis from us too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cast of Characters « A Little Whine and Cheese - April 12, 2010

    […] Brother Bear: The boy. Three weeks old today. Very sweet, but seems to think that awake=hungry=feed me now, lady. I find his exceedingly long legs a lot more tolerable now that he is not stretching them inside my belly. Lost in thought. Probably thinking of how to get more food. […]

  2. Man of the House: Guest Post by Brother Bear « A Little Whine and Cheese - October 25, 2010

    […] been keeping busy since I last wrote. I’m still pretty much bald. I can’t sit up or scoot, but I look real cute rolling to […]

Leave a Reply

