Cast of Characters

12 Apr

Ultimate Blog Party 2010

Whine: I forgot how little nursing mothers accomplish. Trapped forever in my little angel’s three-hour loop of feed,burp,feed,change,feed,burp,get overtired and scream,sleep,start again. Where exactly does my lunch break fit in?

Cheese: If I ever did get to eat lunch, I would burn off those calories in a heartbeat. Being conceirge to a starving newborn has its perks, I guess.

There are some new readers coming around, so I figured a quick introduction of the major players here at A Little Whine and Cheese might be in order. I was going to do the intro then write a really funny post for those of you for whom this is old news, but, well, you read my whine, so this is all you’re going to get. At least there are some cute pictures to look at. (And if you’re just craving more info, like I’m sure you are, just click the highlighted links to my archives to read further on each character.)

Mommy: That’s me. Thirty-three year old “retired” school teacher. Decided to start blogging as a way to prove that it’s them and not me that are crazy, but spend most of my time discussing the bathroom habits of my family members. Mother to a brood of semi-domesticated raccoons, er, children. Married for almost ten years to Mr. Dad, the consummate Texas dude.

Mr. Dad: My best bud. Plays the role of sane and stable one (read: immovable like granite) in the house, as opposed to mine as the dynamic and energetic one (read: volatile and exhausting). He likes sports so much, I’ve formed a Sports Widows Support Group. Will also be the first to tell you very proudly that Texas is the only state in the union that was once it’s own country. (I told you he was a Texas dude.)

The awkwardly-shot self-portrait.

Big Sis: My VERY curious four-and-a-half year old. This child is crazy as all get out. Enjoys “inventing” things at the expense of my carpet, counters and couch cushions. Rarely plays with toys as they are designed, finding that today’s toy companies are completely lame and without imagination.

Before she put the basket on her head and named it her "Mind-in-ator"

Lil’ Sis: My fiesty little two-year-old. Alternately sweet/sensitive/tender and opinionated/independent/dramatic, we are entirely out of our league with her. She spends a lot of time following Big Sis around and trying to smother Brother Bear with snot-laced kisses.

Before she systematically emptied each and every egg into her mouth.

Brother Bear: The boy. Three weeks old today. Very sweet, but seems to think that awake=hungry=feed me now, lady. I find his exceedingly long legs a lot more tolerable now that he is not stretching them inside my belly.

Lost in thought. Probably thinking of how to get more food.

That’s the family in a NUTshell. If you’re new around here, thanks for stopping by, feel free to leave a comment, I’ll be around the blogging block to visit you (hungry baby permitting). And if you’re one of those who’s read me for a while or known me since birth (hi, mom!), thanks for reading a bunch of stuff you already know. Well, that’s all for now, I gotta go burn some more calories.

11 Responses to “Cast of Characters”

  1. Kristiana April 12, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    So proud to be in the Sports Widows Support Group with you and Linds! You are a dear! Love you and your sweet family!

    xoxo
    Kristiana

  2. wee April 13, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    Mind-in-ator – (love it) xoxo
    Systematically emptying – definitely a trouble maker – (love it too – it does get us out of our ‘box’) xoxo
    long legs – yep definitely a 3 or 4 month old – (haha your turn) (lovin’ it) xoxo
    give all those kisses & hugs to them for us, & tell them aunt lisa said they each have to give you one, too

  3. black sheep April 13, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    Awww sarah the new bebe is beautiful!

  4. Lindsay April 13, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Love this family!! Soo proud to be a charter member of the sports widows club with you and K! Love you all!!!!

  5. Aunt Linnaea April 13, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    I have no idea how you found time to write this! But we sure do enjoy keeping informed about our Texas family!

  6. Debbie April 13, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Love it, love it love it!!!!!

    Miss you like crazy!!!!!

  7. rachelle April 13, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    i knew that dress would be super cute on chloe.

  8. Cheryl Walhout April 13, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    What a lovely family. I do wish we were closer. I would love to see you, and your beautiful family. Hopefully we will be able to get something together in the near future!! Are you enjoying your retirement? I stayed the retired teacher for twelve years. I am now subbing, no jobs out there, go figure. Also, I am taking classes, working on an Early Childhood Development endorsement. (I do like being the teacher better than the student. lol) Love you, Sissy (Cheryl)

  9. Melissa April 14, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    Hi! Glad to be partying with you! I love the idea behind your whine and cheese! So cute! And Funny!

    I, too, am a nursing mom, but life has become more productive for me. My son is 10 months and no longer nurses ever 2-3 hours. More incredibly, he is finally accepting plastic nipples in his mouth! woot!

    Glad I found you!

  10. Chelsea April 15, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Mind-in-ator. lol. Congrats on your newest addition to the family. And I love your blog title. 🙂

  11. Aunt Laura April 16, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    “Brother Bear”–how’d you decide on that one? It was great to see you last night.

Leave a Reply

