Five for Friday

27 May

Whine: Constructing zebra cupcakes takes longer than one might think. I didn’t realize this until I was two hours in and only halfway done. At midnight. A 2 am bedtime makes for one sleepy mommy.

Cheese: Zebra cupcakes require black licorice. And since I’m the only one in the house who likes it, I don’t have to share the leftovers.

This new baby thing is finally catching up with me.

My house is hovering at a mess-level somewhere between ‘hovel’ and ‘Hurricane Rita.’ The other day I was in such a hurry that I ate peanut m&ms and a slice of bread for breakfast. Showering every single day seems like a waste of precious alone time.

And so my dear, sweet little blog has gotten shoved to the side along with that stack of overdue library books and unopened mail.

I miss my blog. It’s one of the few ways I’ve found to deal with the incredible weirdness that is my life. My brain feels cluttered by the stack of unwritten posts. Just because I don’t have time to write doesn’t mean they don’t have time to give me more “material.”

It’s late now and I’m nursing a serious overachiever hangover from making all those zebras, so for today’s post you will get five pictures of my most recent baking adventures.

Don't you love the little chocolate bees? I know I did.

Honeybee Pie: Big Sis and I made this together a few months ago. It’s a cookie tart crust with lemon chiffon filling with an apricot glaze. The beehive effect is achieved through. . .bubble wrap! And I was so obsessed with doing it just perfectly that I hand shaved the almonds to make the wings on those chocolate bees. (Recipe from The Pie and Pastry Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum, whom I adore.)

Fancy schmancy.

Apple Tarts: Apples filled with butter, cinnamon and sugar then covered in pastry and brushed with, you guessed it, butter cinnamon and sugar. Seems a little redundant, but I promise you, it’s not. I made these for our romantic Valentine’s Day dinner. (Recipe again courtesy of RLB’s Pie and Pastry Bible. I so want to be her when I grow up.)

E-I-E-I-O

Barnyard Cake: My lil’ sis and I made this for Lil’ Sis’ birthday. She liked it so much she kept singing “e-i-o moo moo dere.” My favorites are the little mini-cupcake chicks. (Recipe from Betty Crocker, design from Family Fun magazine.)

That's cake sushi on the top, which is my favorite kind.

Cherry Blossom Sushi Cake: This is a golden almond cake (also RLB’s recipe from The Cake Bible) with a rasberry buttercream between the layers and a vanilla buttercream on the top. And I hand piped all 40 of those cherry blossoms (and a few hundred more, actually), then ate the remaining icing. I designed it myself for my friend Ted’s sushi-inspired birthday soirée.

I stayed up until 2am for this? Totally worth it.

Zebra Cupcakes: I made these for Sophie’s last day of preschool. Her class this year was the Zebra class, so I thought it’d be fun. At midnight when I was only halfway done, Mr. Dad took pity on me and offered his zebra-making expertise. Now THAT is a good husband. (Cake made from a box, designed by me. Photo courtesy of my friend Tina.)

I hope this post didn’t make you as hungry for buttercream icing and black licorice as it did me because I’m not sharing.

8 Responses to “Five for Friday”

  1. Debbie May 28, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    LOVE THAT BARNYARD CAKE! Oh-if I could EVER pull something like that! 🙂

  2. rachelle May 28, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    i just (at 10am) had choc milk and a “break and bake” choc chip cookie for breakfast- at least it was baked unlike the three i ate at the 2am feed.

  3. Cheryl May 28, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    WOW! Brings back memories. Unfortunately, mine don’t think that kind of baking is fun, cool anymore. 😦 Someday, not too soon, I will be able to do it with grandkids. (I can’t believe I just said that.)

  4. mitsi May 28, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    You are SOOOOOO fancy! I am [more than a little] impressed.

  5. Kel May 29, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Ridiculously cute. Love, love, love. I also love the new blog.

  6. wee June 1, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    i’ll take one of each, please!

  7. Jackie June 1, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Dangit. Dreaming of cupcakey goodness. Off to gather cake making ingredients for an after nap project. I’ll be lucky if we could even half replicate your cuteness though.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five for Friday « A Little Whine and Cheese - July 9, 2010

    […] Which means that I do the same thing over and over (e.g., bite off more than I can chew) and expect a different result (e.g., to not lose my marbles and/or temper in the process).  Thankfully, this also usually means that Mr. Dad (and several other pitying souls) jump in and saves my bacon. Zebra cupcakes at 2am, anyone? […]

Leave a Reply

