LIFE IN ALL CAPS!

15 Sep

Whine: I CANNOT, CANNOT, CANNOT believe my little baby girl is five years old. Somebody must have accidentally hit FF on my life.

Cheese: Nothing illustrates this more than the hilarious reruns of Dukes of Hazzard I am currently watching. It seems like just yesterday I was sitting in front of the tv in my Daisy Duke Underoos waiting to see how long the General Lee would stay airborne. Or was that yesterday?

Having a baby is fun. Not the actual “having” part, but the getting to take one home with you part. Until they are up at all hours ruining your life, but that’s a rabbit trail for another day. But the really fun part of having a baby is that they turn into kids. And as they grow you get to try and figure out who the heck they are becoming.

You spend all your time speculating on every tiny accomplishment because that’s all you have to go on when they are 9 months old. “Ooh, honey, she threw her spaghetti on the floor with her left hand, maybe she’ll be an Olympic softball player and it won’t matter that we haven’t saved for college!”

Don’t get me wrong, it has it’s dicey moments. Like when your three-year-old walks around like a mini-mobster swinging a sock full of batteries and all you see is a future of long visits at the state penitentiary. Or when it seems that her most viable career option might be as a graffiti/tattoo artist.

As they grow, though, more and more patterns begin to emerge. As I’ve watched my precious firstborn, a few things have grown remarkably clear.

Big Sis lives life IN ALL CAPS. She could teach us all a thing or two about living in the present. And speaking of presents, if you are ever having a bad day, just give this girl a present. Anything, even just a pair of Cinderella socks from the dollar store. She will jump and yell and glow like she’s on the Oprah show getting a new Pontiac.

Right before she ran and threw her arms around me and made me cry.

She gets excited about making a plan then making it happen. Like planning her Candyland Cake four months in advance (I really shouldn’t let her watch Cake Boss anymore) or elaborate building-block Eiffel Towers. Or perhaps filling a 5-gallon jug with water to get a drink. Or using her new grabber toy to reach the donuts on the top of the fridge. Occasionally, cleaning up after “inspiration” strikes is a little more than we bargained for. I think I may know how Thomas Edison’s mother must have felt. And they didn’t even have Magic Eraser back then.

Eat your heart out, Cake Boss (& thank you, Kiki!)

Her hyper-planner side has another downside as well, namely that things that do not go according to plan usually result in unparalleled devastation. I have NO idea where she gets THAT from.

Her enthusiasm extends to everyone she meets, usually in the form of an enthusiastic assault hug. She loves to play dress up with her friends and her brother and even with her sister. She shares her toys with her friends and her brother and not so much with her sister. I love watching her mind work, even if I don’t always understand exactly how she comes up with the things she does.

Big Sis aka Jessie the Cowgirl

She hugs with gusto (heimlich, anyone?), laughs like her life depends on it and somehow convinces me to go play in the rain even though I hate getting my hair wet. I hope she never decides to live her life in lowercase.

Need I say more?

10 Responses to “LIFE IN ALL CAPS!”

  1. Cheryl September 16, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    What a beautiful “young lady” Jessie is becoming. Just think, though, your getting to know her is still in it’s beginnning stages. Just when you think you understand her, she will change and you will have to take a refresher course. It is GREAT!! You will have a wonderful time.

    (who is Kiki? I know it has been a long time since I have seen you guys, but…….)

  2. Susie Sanders September 16, 2010 at 7:14 am #

    Love it! I want to be living like that.

    Susie

  3. Grandma Anderson September 16, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    I’m very impressed by your writing, your creativity, and your cakes.
    We love you AND your family!

  4. wee September 16, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    awwwwww! Happy Birthday again Big Sis! we love you & miss you!

  5. rachelle September 16, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    happy birthday sophia joy! i will never forget how your mama cried tears of joy as she introduced you to the world.

  6. Karen September 16, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    We love that girl!!!! Thanks for letting us share in her amazingness!!!

  7. Lindsay Stewart September 16, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    What a perfect way to describe sweet Sophie!!! Happy belated birthday sweet girl!!!

  8. Johanna I. September 16, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    I love that girl.

    But I also have an Uncle Steve/Dave story. Remember when we were coming home from Tucson and she ran up to me at DFW yelling, “Aunt Kel!” Close enough…I’ll take it.

  9. PopPop and Grandma Pam September 17, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    Sophia is truly our joy! Tell Kiki that we think the Candy Land cake was great. Our love to you all.

  10. Kelly September 18, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    I think we could all take a cue from Soph. Life in all caps is the best way to live- the highs and the lows. I hope she never learns to dull herself or lower her expectations so she isn’t disappointed.

    Keep letting her watch Cake Boss and keep letting her hatch her plans. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with. I’ll be happy to say I know her when she becomes famous for her latest invention (and rich, very rich).

Leave a Reply

