For My Sister

24 Sep

Whine:  Last night I stepped into my bedroom and into a large, slushy puddle of water simultaneously. After scanning the room for evidence of Tiny Terrorism and finding none, I shrugged and cleaned it up. When I returned to the scene an hour later and the slushy puddle had returned, with a vengeance, I called for back up. Turns out my air conditioner is disgruntled about having to work so late into September and is protesting by spewing water all over my carpet.

Cheese: Mr. Dad just earned his second “Fix the A/C” badge for his Handyman vest. He may have had to rip up the carpet and remove the bedroom door in the process, but at least I’m not borrowing from Big Sis’ college fund to pay for an emergency after-hours repair guy to come rip up my carpet and remove my bedroom door. Because that would be weird.

I want to dedicate today’s post to my sister Wren. Today is her birthday. And if you’ll excuse my language, it’s going to be a really craptastic birthday. Let’s just say it’s been a terribly hard week for her, and today will be no exception. And while I’m glad that she has a cute little house and cute little kids (and of course her hubby, “Uncle Steve”), I’m sad because they are all in sunny Florida. And that’s there and she’s there, and I’m precisely the opposite of that. I’m here.

And it just sucks to be so far away when she needs me to fan her and feed her grapes. (It’s what any good sister would do.) I mean I can’t even mail her a noodle casserole or anything because I’m pretty sure the UPS guy would scarf it all down before it got there because who can resist a noodle casserole??

And so the best I can do is try to make her laugh or at least entertain her. So I’ll probably spend the rest of this post telling stories about the good ol’ days and bore the pants off the rest of you, but I don’t really care because it’s not your birthday, unless it is, in which case you’re still probably not having quite as craptastic of a day as my sister so quit your whining already.

At some point in the early 90s Wren and I went to summer camp together. On the last night of camp there was an all-camp pizza party out on the grassy hill. We were all sitting around talking and hanging out. This apparently was really lame, so some of the boys started playing frisbee with the pizza boxes. Wren and I were ignoring them because we were deeply involved in a conversation in which we discussing our funerals. Looking back, I see how the pizza box frisbee may have broken out, as funeral arrangements are not that interesting to most eighth graders. Just as she was promising to bring flowers to my funeral, I felt something drop out of the sky right onto my head.

Upon further inspection and through choked back tears we discovered that I had just been hit with a full can of Sprite. Apparently the pizza boxes got boring and someone started throwing soda cans. I felt the Sprite spilling down my head, so Wren ran me up the hill to the nurse’s station. Except when we got there I realized it was most certainly not Sprite, but blood, trickling down my forehead. I looked like an extra in a bad axe-murderer movie. (As opposed to the good axe-murderer movie, which is one of mine and Wren’s favorites.)

In the end I was taken to the local middle-of-nowhere hospital, had a few stitches put in (it was merely a flesh wound) and went back to camp to milk my injury for all it was worth. But the thing I remember most was laughing so hard afterward with my sister about the irony of “almost dying” while discussing funeral plans. And the fact that there was someone else in the world with a sense of humor as morbid as mine.

Wren (far left) and I (far right) post soda can episode. Wish I could blame head trauma for my choice of shorts, or should I say jorts?

Wren and I, along with our other three sisters, have shared a lot of life together. School dances, breakups, vacations, and myriad bad style choices (see above). We have played dress up more than any teenagers probably should. We’ve had our fights, although fighting with Wren is pretty useless, as she will just argue until you are beaten down and give up.

A little too much time on our hands, I think.

As we’ve grown up we’ve done everything at almost the same time: gone to college, gotten jobs, gotten married (three weeks apart), and had kids. All the while we’ve remained friends and partners in life.  Our neurotic fixations may have changed over the years, but we still understand each other pretty perfectly. And I’m so glad that when the sky is falling, either literally or figuratively, that we have each other.  Happy birthday, Sis.

5 Responses to “For My Sister”

  1. wee September 24, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    you guys (that is, ya’ll) are rockin’! [Go State!] Happy Bday Wren! (hope you watch the axe murderer movie today or something you want to…& wish I could fan&feedyou too xoxo)

  2. Grandma Anderson September 24, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    I read this posting to Grandpa. He asked me to send the following to you:

    In regards to separation, (Grandpa is reading from a giant card he received years ago from Michele Yoon)

    “I’m restless…I’m depressed…I’m sad…I’m forlorn…all for just TWO reasons:.1, YOU’RE THERE. 2, I’M HERE.

    We liked your stories and pictures. : )

    Love & prayers,
    Grandma and Grandpa

  3. Wren September 24, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Oh Sar, thanks for making me laugh. Except it kind of hurts cause it’s a little sore. But totally worth it. “Come Nadia, let us dance like children of the night. Expand. Inflex.”
    I wish you could be here too, and you too Lis. And Shari and Laura. Man, we have a lot of sisters.

    And Grandma, thanks for proving that even if no one else does, at least your grandparents will like pictures of you from middle school.

  4. Derek September 24, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    How I love you all! Such wonderful sisters and great friends (to eachother and to me). Sarah, you were of course the one who would give me that gentle kick in the butt when I needed it. Karen, like my other conscience (and could teach Jimney Cricket a few things), you were always looking out for my well-being even when I wanted to fight you on it (I recall many a school lunch when I had to surrender a sugary snack because you were RIGHT about my hypoglycemia). And of course Laura, you held a very special place in my heart (heck a walk with your Dad was an intimidating event, but worth it to have had the opportunity to be your guy) — I learned so much from you, such amazing insight from a younger gal (just wish I could have gotten you to tutor me in High School, I might have ranked higher *hehee*)

    I miss seeing ya’ll a lot, you are all such wonderful ladies and Godly women — Stay wonderful! HUGS

  5. Johanna I. September 27, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Lovely post, Sars. And here’s hoping September 27, 2011 redeems 2010.

Leave a Reply

